Play TheFantasyFootball on Facebook

Do You Remember All of the World Cup Posters?

If the answer is no, you should check out this article and refresh your memory. If the answer is yes, you should check out the article because it’s cool!

1930, host: Uruguay, winner: Uruguay – The first ever World Cup in football history with thirteen teams to enter the tournament. In the final hosts Uruguay beat 4-2 Argentina to become the first world champion. The first ever World Cup goal was scored by Lucien Laurent of France, the first hat-trick was scored by Bert Patenaude (USA).


1934, host: Italy, winner: Italy – It was the first World Cup for which teams had to qualify. In the final (which was held at the Stadium of the National Fascist Party) Czechslovakia took the lead but Italy managed to score before the final whistle and then in the extra time to win the title. Interestingly all four non-European teams were eliminated after the first round.


1938, host: France, winner: Italy – Italy managed to retain the title as holders beat Hungary 4-2 in the final. This was the only World Cup in which Germany was eliminated in the first round, and the only tournament in which Germany competed but failed to qualify to the quarter-final. Vittorio Pozzo became the only national team manager to win two World Cups as a coach.


1950, host: Brazil, winner: Uruguay – Uruguay returned to the World Cup after 20 years of absence and won it immediately. In the final at the famous Estadio do Maracana, Uruguay beat hosts Brazil 2-1 in front of nearly 200.000 spectators. Interesting fact: India didn’t take part in the World Cup because FIFA didn’t allow their players to play barefoot.


1954, host: Switzerland, winner: West Germany – “The Miracle of Bern” and “The Battle of Berne”. Many all-time records were set at this tournament and they haven’t subsequently been surpassed. This was the World Cup of the world famous Hungarian Golden Team, which won “The Battle of Berne” against Brazil, but then lost the final against West Germany. Hungary beat West Germany 8-3 earlier in the tournament and took 2-0 lead in the 8th minute of the final but the Germans managed to turn the score into their favor before the final whistle.


1958, host: Sweden, winner: Brazil – The World Cup of a rising star whose name is Pele. The Brazilian youngster (who was only 17 years old) scored twice in the final against Sweden and was the brightest talent at his time. In 1958 Just Fontaine (France) was topscorer with 13 goals setting an all-time record.


1962, host: Chile, winner: Brazil – The World Cup of injuries – local media counted 34 (!) injuries at the group stage including Brazilian star Pele. After Italy, Brazil became the second team to successfully defend the title after they had beaten Czechslovakia in the final.


1966, host: England, winner: England – England became the third host to win the World Cup after Uruguay (1930) and Italy (1934). This World Cup saw few goals as the teams began to play more tactically and defensively. England for instance won Group 1 with only four goals to their name but conceded none. Eusebio rescued Portugal in the quarter-final against North Korea (5-3) with four goals to his name and later became topscorer  with 9 goals.


1970, host: Mexico, winner: Brazil – Brazil beat Italy 4-1 in the final and won the right to permanently keep the Jules Rimet Trophy. The team, led by Carlos Alberto, was often cited as the greatest World Cup team and included players like Pele, Jairzinho, Tostao and Rivelino. The final was broadcast in colour for the first time.


1974, host: West Germany, winner: West Germany – Great teams like Spain, Czechslovakia, France and Hungary couldn’t qualify for the tournament but there were four new teams (Zaire, Haiti, Australia and East Germany). Netherlands Total Football system didn’t work against West Germany in the final which, according to former FIFA President Joao Havelange, was fixed .


1978, host: Argentina, winner: Argentina – There were a lot of controversy surrounding this World Cup including the final. Argentina won the final 3-1 after extra time against the Netherlands. They lost their second World Cup finals in a row, both times to the host nation.


1982, host: Spain, winner: Italy – Italy became the first team to advance from the group stage without winning a single match, drawing all three. This was the first World Cup in which teams from all six continental confederations participated in the finals. Italy won the final against Brazil, the European team’s captain-goalkeeper Dino Zoff (40 years old) became the oldest WC winner.


1986, host: Mexico, winner: Argentina – Winner Argentina was captained by Diego Maradona who scored the famous “Hand of God” goal and then in the same quarter-final the “Goal of the Century”. England’s Gary Lineker won the Golden Boot with six goals.


1990, host: Italy, winner: West Germany – This World Cup is regarded as one of the poorest tournaments because of the record low goals-per-game avarage (2.21) and the 16 red cards, which is an all-time record too. West Germany won the final against Argentina which was the remake of the previous final.


1994, host: USA, winner: Brazil – The best attended World Cup in history with the average of nearly 69.000 attendance. Brazil became the first national team to win the title in a penalty shootout as they beat Italy after the game had ended 0-0.


1998, host: France, winner: France – France became the seventh nation to win the World Cup after they had beaten Brazil 3-0 in the final. Zinedine Zidane scored two goals in the final and Emmanuel Petit estabilished the final result.


2002, hosts: Japan and South Korea, winner: Brazil – The first World Cup held in Asia. Brazil claimed the title for a record fifth time beating Germany in the final. The biggest disappointment was title holder France, which was eliminated in the group stage after earning only one point.


2006, host: Germany, winner: Italy – Dramatic matches and record number of yellow and red cards. Players received 345 yellow and 28 red cards as Valentin Ivanov Russian referee handed out 16 yellow and 4 red cards in the match between Portugal and the Netherlands, the fixture known as the “Battle of Nuremberg”. Italy won the controversial final (Zidane headbutted Materazzi) against France with penalty shootout.


2010, host: South Africa, winner: Spain – Spain became the eighth nation to claim the title after beating Netherlands in the final with Andrés Iniesta’s goal in the 116th minute. 2006 finalists Italy and France were eliminated at the group stage, New Zealand with three draws was the only undefeated team in the tournament, but was also eliminated in the first round.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


TheFantasyFootball on Facebook


Powered by WordPress Popup